Title Animation for Invisible Cities (Type II Project)

08Dec09

This is my title animation for Invisible Cities project in Typography II class. For this project I am really thankful for Digital Design class. I had a chance to use some skill that I have learned from this class to create this animation. This helped me a lot since I did not know anything about motion before and I would not know what to do with this project without this class…so thank you!

The city that I chose for this project was Valdrada. The city was built on the shores of a lake by the ancients. People see two cities: one erect above the lake, and the other reflected, upside down. Nothing exists or happens in the one Valdrada that the other Valdrada does not repeat. At times the mirror increases a thing’s value, at times denies it. Not everything that seems valuable above the mirror maintains its force when mirrored. The twin cities are not equal, because nothing that exists or happens in Valdrada is symmetrical. The two Valdradas live for each other, their eyes interlocked; but there is no love between them. (from Calvino’s Invisible Cities)

For me these twin Valdradas are just an illusion. I can not tell which one is more real. They seem to be the same from their appearances and they are supposed to love each other, but actually they don’t.



No Responses Yet to “Title Animation for Invisible Cities (Type II Project)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment